#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

Donna Morgan
Andrew Harmon
Janet Pfahl
Glenn Richards
Laura Richardson
Rose Denis
Walden Charette
Carolyn Reed
Ellen Bois
Wayne Withee
Teri Stred
Kathleen Carroll
Charles Barnes
Charlie Mock
Brian Bourgault
Virginia Collins
Patricia Donovan
Glen Desjardins
Laura Dion-Jones
merrell gopsill
Billie Savage
Allen Nadeau
Howard Farr
Mary Thompson
Orman Melanson
Anthony Soucy
Brian Baird
Joan Petersen
Joshua Chamberlain
Roscoe Scott III
2,046 signatures

Showing 1514 reactions

  • Donna Morgan
    signed via 2019-03-05 10:29:43 -0500
    We do not want a few larger states electing the President of the United States
  • Andrew Harmon
    signed 2019-03-05 10:28:02 -0500
  • Janet Pfahl
    signed via 2019-03-05 10:27:57 -0500
  • Glenn Richards
    signed 2019-03-05 10:26:59 -0500
    Glenn Richards
  • Laura Richardson
    signed 2019-03-05 10:25:08 -0500
  • Rose Denis
    signed 2019-03-05 10:25:00 -0500
  • Walden Charette
    signed 2019-03-05 10:22:37 -0500
  • Carolyn Reed
    signed 2019-03-05 10:22:35 -0500
    Carolyn Reed
  • Ellen Bois
    signed 2019-03-05 09:43:32 -0500
  • Wayne Withee
    signed 2019-03-05 09:42:22 -0500
  • Teri Stred
    signed 2019-03-05 09:38:00 -0500
    Teri Stred
  • Kathleen Carroll
    signed 2019-03-05 09:37:54 -0500
  • Charles Barnes
    signed 2019-03-05 09:37:04 -0500
  • Charlie Mock
    signed 2019-03-05 09:34:48 -0500
  • Brian Bourgault
    signed 2019-03-05 09:34:47 -0500
  • Virginia Collins
    signed 2019-03-05 09:34:24 -0500
  • Patricia Donovan
    signed 2019-03-05 09:32:13 -0500
  • Glen Desjardins
    signed 2019-03-05 09:28:30 -0500
    This should be against the constitution. It takes away our vote, our voice and our democracy. This is Markist leftist tactics that must not be tolorated.
  • Laura Dion-Jones
    signed via 2019-03-05 09:25:17 -0500
    We must fight to protect our votes with the Electoral College. Stop your NWO Deep State demo-socialism takeover.
  • merrell gopsill
    signed 2019-03-05 09:24:28 -0500
  • Billie Savage
    signed 2019-03-05 09:22:43 -0500
  • Allen Nadeau
    signed 2019-03-05 09:16:48 -0500
  • Howard Farr
    signed 2019-03-05 09:07:51 -0500
    This is idiotic. NY California and the populous state will elected our next president. The current system levels the playing field. Please do not enact this change
  • Mary Thompson
    signed 2019-03-05 09:01:42 -0500
  • Orman Melanson
    signed 2019-03-05 08:53:03 -0500
    This should never happen. This State is going in the wrong direction.
  • Anthony Soucy
    signed 2019-03-05 08:52:38 -0500
  • Brian Baird
    signed 2019-03-05 08:48:08 -0500
  • Joan Petersen
    signed 2019-03-05 08:45:05 -0500
  • Joshua Chamberlain
    signed 2019-03-05 08:37:35 -0500
  • Roscoe Scott III
    signed 2019-03-05 08:34:27 -0500