#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

Kelly Borgogelli
Diane McClement
Brent Pratt
Richard Watson Jr
Mark Turek
Jeff Donahue
Paul Pelletier
Theresa Sirois
Gerald Dunning
Joshua Fulton
Debbi Perkins
Tawney Benner
Geraldine Marti
Damien Oakes
Barbara Nadeau
Deborah Finnegan
Roxanne Graham
Naomi McGaughy
James Carson
Hank Poirier
Deborah Wilson
Melissa Sibley
Janice Clark
Christopher Lydon
Sue White
Paula Sutton
Deborah Coffin
Scott Kirchgessner
Carolyn MacDougall
Dimitrios Polimenakos
2,032 signatures

Showing 1503 reactions

  • Kelly Borgogelli
    signed via 2019-03-05 04:53:06 -0500
  • Diane McClement
    signed 2019-03-05 04:28:45 -0500
  • Brent Pratt
    signed 2019-03-05 04:11:38 -0500
  • Richard Watson Jr
    signed 2019-03-05 04:01:17 -0500
  • Mark Turek
    signed 2019-03-05 03:27:51 -0500
    The National Popular Vote is a terrible idea by the socialist movement that needs to be defeated. Please help spread the word about this before it’s too late.
  • Jeff Donahue
    signed 2019-03-05 02:07:39 -0500
  • Paul Pelletier
    signed 2019-03-05 01:43:29 -0500
    popular vote is a bad deal for Maine
  • Theresa Sirois
    signed 2019-03-05 01:39:22 -0500
  • Gerald Dunning
    signed 2019-03-05 00:30:21 -0500
  • Joshua Fulton
    signed 2019-03-05 00:00:15 -0500
    Joshua L Fulton
  • Debbi Perkins
    signed 2019-03-04 23:54:47 -0500
    Why would any Maine legislator want to allow just a few states to elect our President and give smaller populated states, including us, NO VOICE!
  • Tawney Benner
    signed via 2019-03-04 23:37:18 -0500
    This will disenfranchise our votes across the country.

    Think of our country’s future for God sake.
  • Geraldine Marti
    signed 2019-03-04 23:28:07 -0500
  • Damien Oakes
    signed 2019-03-04 23:24:53 -0500
  • Barbara Nadeau
    signed via 2019-03-04 23:20:49 -0500
  • Deborah Finnegan
    signed 2019-03-04 23:16:48 -0500
    Stop trying to silence the voice of Mainers!!
  • Roxanne Graham
    signed via 2019-03-04 23:11:24 -0500
  • Naomi McGaughy
    signed via 2019-03-04 23:09:42 -0500
    No to NPV!
  • James Carson
    signed 2019-03-04 22:59:22 -0500
  • Hank Poirier
    signed 2019-03-04 22:59:07 -0500
  • Deborah Wilson
    signed 2019-03-04 22:58:20 -0500
    Disgusting.. Disgusting… Disgusting…

    Leave the Electoral College in place

    Preserve my vote

    Stop trying to silence the voice of Mainers!!
  • Melissa Sibley
    signed 2019-03-04 22:27:43 -0500
  • Janice Clark
    signed 2019-03-04 22:16:43 -0500
  • Christopher Lydon
    signed 2019-03-04 22:09:05 -0500
  • Sue White
    signed 2019-03-04 22:08:11 -0500
    Sue White Absolutely unconstitutional and NO NO NO
  • Paula Sutton
    signed 2019-03-04 21:57:10 -0500
    You can use my name but not my email address or my phone number
  • Deborah Coffin
    signed 2019-03-04 21:52:44 -0500
  • Scott Kirchgessner
    signed via 2019-03-04 21:52:23 -0500
  • Carolyn MacDougall
    signed 2019-03-04 21:49:38 -0500
    I am against national popular vote!
  • Dimitrios Polimenakos
    signed via 2019-03-04 21:48:56 -0500
    Dimitrios Polimenakos