#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

Kerry Barnes
terri Mitchell
Denise Morrison
Melissa Watson
James Waite
Ted Ryan
David Cook
Foster Meserve
Jayme Foss
Steven Lavigne
Margaret Howson
Jacquelyn Hodgdon
Douglas Anderson
Tristan Petersen
keith howard
James Glusker
Hart Daley
Sherry DeBiasio
Paul Dempsey
Raymond Taylor III
John Carrier
Cathy Hawkes
Bill McCall
Matthew Quintana
Mathew Lint
John Townsend
Katrin Webber
Michael Thomas
cinda young
2,046 signatures

Showing 1514 reactions

  • Kerry Barnes
    signed 2019-03-04 18:56:02 -0500
  • terri Mitchell
    signed 2019-03-04 18:53:59 -0500
  • Denise Morrison
    signed 2019-03-04 18:53:27 -0500
  • Melissa Watson
    signed 2019-03-04 18:50:59 -0500
  • James Waite
    signed 2019-03-04 18:49:41 -0500
    James Waite
  • Ted Ryan
    signed 2019-03-04 18:48:16 -0500
    No, Period.
  • David Cook
    signed 2019-03-04 18:48:00 -0500
  • Foster Meserve
    signed 2019-03-04 18:47:58 -0500
  • Jayme Foss
    signed 2019-03-04 18:47:56 -0500
    I’m sick of the power of southern marines leftist deciding for all of maine!
  • Steven Lavigne
    signed 2019-03-04 18:46:36 -0500
  • Margaret Howson
    signed 2019-03-04 18:42:01 -0500
  • Jacquelyn Hodgdon
    signed 2019-03-04 18:40:29 -0500
    Jacquelyn Hodgdon
  • Douglas Anderson
    followed this page 2019-03-04 18:39:52 -0500
  • Douglas Anderson
    signed 2019-03-04 18:38:00 -0500
    Do not pass this bill, keep the electoral college voting. My vote needs to count
  • Tristan Petersen
    signed 2019-03-04 18:35:37 -0500
    Stop trying to change the rules when you don’t get your way, liberals!!
  • keith howard
    signed 2019-03-04 18:33:53 -0500
    keith howard
  • James Glusker
    signed 2019-03-04 18:31:42 -0500
    Do not give away our electoral votes to the popular vote winner!
  • Hart Daley
    signed 2019-03-04 18:30:44 -0500
    Save our voice! We don’t need our Maine way of life dictated to us by the likes of California, New York, New Jersey, or any other densely populated States!
  • Sherry DeBiasio
    signed 2019-03-04 18:28:42 -0500
    I do not want the National Popular vote system
  • Paul Dempsey
    signed 2019-03-04 18:23:26 -0500
  • Raymond Taylor III
    signed 2019-03-04 18:20:33 -0500
    Keep our electoral votes intact as they stand please.
  • John Carrier
    signed 2019-03-04 18:09:33 -0500
  • Cathy Hawkes
    signed 2019-03-04 18:07:33 -0500
  • Bill McCall
    signed 2019-03-04 18:00:17 -0500
    William McCall
  • Matthew Quintana
    signed 2019-03-04 17:58:07 -0500
  • Mathew Lint
    signed 2019-03-04 17:57:12 -0500
  • John Townsend
    signed 2019-03-04 17:48:19 -0500
  • Katrin Webber
    signed 2019-03-04 17:40:19 -0500
  • Michael Thomas
    signed 2019-03-04 17:40:00 -0500
    Michael P Thomas
  • cinda young
    signed 2019-03-04 17:36:37 -0500
    cinda young