#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

Joseph Hunt
Julie DeGrasse
Daniel Ober
Mich Hobbs
Jeffrey Neil
Theodore Howe
Michael Webb
Daniel Chavanne
Scott Parsons
Darlene Brook
Neil DeLuca
Alex Thompson
Shawn Carey
Kaitlin Waterhouse
2,046 signatures

Showing 1514 reactions

  • Joseph Hunt
    signed 2019-03-04 12:31:14 -0500
  • Julie DeGrasse
    signed 2019-03-04 12:29:42 -0500
  • Daniel Ober
    signed 2019-03-04 12:29:24 -0500
  • Mich Hobbs
    signed 2019-03-04 12:29:08 -0500
  • Jeffrey Neil
    signed 2019-03-04 12:29:01 -0500
  • Theodore Howe
    signed 2019-03-04 12:28:04 -0500
  • Michael Webb
    signed 2019-03-04 12:25:11 -0500
  • Daniel Chavanne
    signed 2019-03-04 12:23:53 -0500
  • Scott Parsons
    signed 2019-03-04 12:23:26 -0500
    Scott Parsons
  • Darlene Brook
    signed 2019-03-04 12:22:46 -0500
  • Neil DeLuca
    signed 2019-03-04 12:22:42 -0500
  • Alex Thompson
    signed 2019-03-04 12:20:02 -0500
  • Shawn Carey
    signed 2019-03-04 12:19:49 -0500
  • Kaitlin Waterhouse
    signed 2019-03-04 12:16:02 -0500
    Kaitlin Waterhouse