#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

James Brown
Brent Bernier
Dave Erb
Bonnie Morrison
William Haggerty
Stephen Littlefield
Jerome Watson
Danny Emerson
Susan Tufts
Shannon Brewer
Richard Young
Michael Fortin
Thomas Pearl
Brian Baird
Pamela Brant
Richard jordan
Gerald Galbreath
Drew Tardif
Chris Cloutier
Arnold Packard
Richard Pieczarka
Dane Rasmussen
James Batty
robert bizier
Melissa Hanning
Olga LaPlante
Larry Pelletier
Nathaniel Bacon
Clara Yolley
Floyd Beatty
1,975 signatures

Showing 1461 reactions

  • James Brown
    signed 2019-04-17 18:57:34 -0400
  • Brent Bernier
    signed 2019-04-17 18:56:02 -0400
  • Dave Erb
    signed 2019-04-17 18:52:48 -0400
  • Bonnie Morrison
    signed 2019-04-17 18:52:40 -0400
  • William Haggerty
    signed 2019-04-17 18:51:13 -0400
    I do not want to lose my voice on the national level to the larger states. The founding fathers knew what they were doing.
  • Stephen Littlefield
    signed 2019-04-17 18:48:04 -0400
    This is unacceptable, this is against the Constitution and it should not be a bill passed by the legislature, ever! This is the legislature doing exactly what they are trying to eliminate!! Playing electoral college to the voter rights! The legislature does not have the right to take away the voters right, in effect nullifying the citizens right to vote! This would give no reason for anyone to vote in the state, THAT’S TYRANNY!!
  • Jerome Watson
    signed 2019-04-17 18:40:48 -0400
  • Danny Emerson
    signed 2019-04-17 18:39:46 -0400
  • Susan Tufts
    signed 2019-04-17 18:29:43 -0400
  • Shannon Brewer
    signed 2019-04-17 18:29:10 -0400
    I oppose the LD816 national vote. I do not want to lose my voice to NY, LA and Chicago.

    We need to keep the electoral college so that we don’t loose our voices outside of the big cities. That is why our Founding Fathers gave us the electoral college.
  • Richard Young
    signed 2019-04-17 18:26:49 -0400
    This concept is a TRAVESTY! I want my vote to COUNT – not become part of someone else’s vote in some conglomerate. Let’s not get caught up in the emotions of the moment and undermine our democracy!
  • Michael Fortin
    signed 2019-04-17 18:26:28 -0400
  • Thomas Pearl
    signed 2019-04-17 18:26:18 -0400
    Need to stop this assault on our voice just because some can deal with loosing an election. Grow up already.
  • Brian Baird
    signed 2019-04-17 18:23:24 -0400
  • Pamela Brant
    signed 2019-04-17 18:22:12 -0400
    Please do NOT award Maines votes to the “national popular vote”. Why would I bother to go to the polls if we are just going to ‘jump on the bandwagon’ with New York and California. The most heavily populated areas of the country will always have the final say if we go with this national vote. It’s kind of like just “following the crowd”….not having any mind of our own…crazy!
  • Richard jordan
    signed 2019-04-17 18:18:34 -0400
  • Gerald Galbreath
    signed 2019-04-17 18:12:41 -0400
  • Drew Tardif
    signed 2019-04-17 18:09:11 -0400
  • Chris Cloutier
    signed 2019-04-17 18:08:12 -0400
  • Arnold Packard
    signed 2019-04-17 18:00:13 -0400
    Arnold Packard
  • Richard Pieczarka
    signed 2019-04-17 17:49:43 -0400
    Adolf Hitler came to power using the popular vote. You want Maine to be just like Nazi Germany?
  • Dane Rasmussen
    signed 2019-04-17 17:49:09 -0400
  • James Batty
    signed 2019-04-17 17:45:53 -0400
    James Batty
  • robert bizier
    signed 2019-04-17 17:42:51 -0400
  • Melissa Hanning
    signed 2019-04-17 17:32:15 -0400
  • Olga LaPlante
    signed 2019-04-17 17:31:50 -0400
  • Larry Pelletier
    signed 2019-04-17 17:30:36 -0400
    Larry Pelletier
  • Nathaniel Bacon
    signed 2019-04-17 17:25:18 -0400
  • Clara Yolley
    signed 2019-04-17 17:21:19 -0400
  • Floyd Beatty
    signed 2019-04-17 17:19:14 -0400