#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

Jack Murray
Patricia Farnsworth
Robert Wilcox
Cynthia Stiles-Stacey
Pamela Slye
Rebecca Conley
Diane Baldwin
Ann Arthurs
merland clark
Jeramie Breton
Autumn Brook
Kevin Peek
John Wilson
Andrew Clement
daniel landry
Eric Laliberty
Joseph Szafir
Donald Boisvert
Arthur Cummings
timothy mackillop
William Parsons
Katherine Chisholm
clint chicoine
Marilyn     D Fogg
Richard Lindkvist
Donald Hamill
Pamela Miller
Greg Bagley
Susan Lindkvist
Lori C
2,046 signatures

Showing 1514 reactions

  • Jack Murray
    signed 2019-04-18 01:37:02 -0400
    This is just more bully tactics by progressives on their march toward socialism.
  • Patricia Farnsworth
    signed 2019-04-18 00:14:07 -0400
  • Robert Wilcox
    signed 2019-04-17 23:57:00 -0400
  • Cynthia Stiles-Stacey
    signed 2019-04-17 23:31:25 -0400
  • Pamela Slye
    signed 2019-04-17 22:56:43 -0400
  • Rebecca Conley
    signed 2019-04-17 22:47:49 -0400
    This was a LONG process just get signed up to support you. SIMPLY
  • Diane Baldwin
    signed 2019-04-17 22:22:31 -0400
    Don’t throw my vote away!
  • Ann Arthurs
    signed 2019-04-17 21:46:22 -0400
    Please do NOt give Maines votes away to another state !!!! It is OUR vote not another states !!!!!
  • merland clark
    signed 2019-04-17 21:41:15 -0400
    I don’t want any self appointed expert messing with the democracy I grew up with and the same democracy I want my grandchildren to have. Get out in the field and get the REAL pulse of the people, not your own!
  • Jeramie Breton
    signed 2019-04-17 21:38:51 -0400
    Please do not give away our electoral college voting process for national popular vote. Continue to give Maine a voice in our election.
  • Autumn Brook
    signed 2019-04-17 21:34:59 -0400
    Big mistake do not support LD 816
  • Kevin Peek
    signed 2019-04-17 21:17:15 -0400
  • John Wilson
    signed 2019-04-17 21:14:33 -0400
  • Andrew Clement
    signed 2019-04-17 20:55:36 -0400
  • daniel landry
    signed 2019-04-17 20:53:01 -0400
    We need to keep the electoral college to ensure that the Maine people have a voice in the Presidential elections.
  • Eric Laliberty
    signed 2019-04-17 20:49:51 -0400
  • Joseph Szafir
    signed 2019-04-17 20:45:53 -0400
  • Donald Boisvert
    signed 2019-04-17 20:43:50 -0400
    Donald Boisvert
  • Arthur Cummings
    signed 2019-04-17 20:43:03 -0400
  • timothy mackillop
    signed 2019-04-17 20:30:22 -0400
    timothy d mackillop
  • William Parsons
    signed 2019-04-17 20:26:05 -0400
    I don’t want city people ruling me !!!
  • Katherine Chisholm
    signed 2019-04-17 20:22:32 -0400
  • clint chicoine
    signed 2019-04-17 20:21:26 -0400
  • Marilyn     D Fogg
    signed via 2019-04-17 20:13:23 -0400
  • Richard Lindkvist
    signed via 2019-04-17 20:11:06 -0400
    I m vehemently opposed to this bill & will never vote for any candidate who supports this preposterous concept
  • Donald Hamill
    signed 2019-04-17 20:09:57 -0400
  • Pamela Miller
    signed 2019-04-17 20:08:26 -0400
  • Greg Bagley
    signed 2019-04-17 20:07:23 -0400
  • Susan Lindkvist
    signed 2019-04-17 19:57:45 -0400
    I m vehemently opposed to this bill & will never vote for any candidate who supports this preposterous concept
  • Lori C
    signed 2019-04-17 19:43:42 -0400