#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

Charles Bouchles
Beverly Leighton
Gregory Powell
Robert Smith
Phillip Stratton
Ronald Cole
Ben Kelley
Joanne Spencer
Brandi Watson
Scott Antworth
Douglas Cahill
Kevin Campbell
Patricia Zebley
James Lux
David Hartford
Sharon Romano
Joseph Quinn
Tom Seymour
Cynthia Gagne
Raymond Daskoski
Kym Tobin
Kevin Donahue
Bill Floster
Dennis Higgins
Celeste Pelletier
John Ryan
Phil Foster
Malcolm Roberts
Val Graffa
Danielle McGrath
1,965 signatures

Showing 1453 reactions

  • Charles Bouchles
    signed 2019-04-17 16:05:18 -0400
  • Beverly Leighton
    signed 2019-04-17 16:04:04 -0400
    I am against giving Maine’s electoral votes away. The electoral college was established for a reason and that reason is more true today than ever. This should not even be considered.
  • Gregory Powell
    signed 2019-04-17 16:03:25 -0400
  • Robert Smith
    signed 2019-04-17 16:02:29 -0400
  • Phillip Stratton
    signed 2019-04-17 16:02:24 -0400
    Phillip G Stratton
  • Ronald Cole
    signed 2019-04-17 16:00:35 -0400
  • Ben Kelley
    signed 2019-04-17 15:59:21 -0400
  • Joanne Spencer
    signed 2019-04-17 15:59:06 -0400
    Maine needs a voice!!
  • Brandi Watson
    signed 2019-04-17 15:57:07 -0400
    Brandi Watson
  • Scott Antworth
    signed 2019-04-17 15:56:20 -0400
    Troy Jackson is so out of touch with Aroostook County and Maine people in general. He is more suited for a night manager job at a hotel.
  • Douglas Cahill
    signed 2019-04-17 15:56:12 -0400
  • Kevin Campbell
    signed 2019-04-17 15:56:09 -0400
    This will destroy our Republic.
  • Patricia Zebley
    signed 2019-04-17 15:55:14 -0400
    This should not be passed…it would hurt the citizens of a small state like Maine!
  • James Lux
    signed 2019-04-17 15:55:05 -0400
  • David Hartford
    signed 2019-04-17 15:54:29 -0400
  • Sharon Romano
    signed 2019-04-17 15:53:51 -0400
  • Joseph Quinn
    signed 2019-04-17 15:53:27 -0400
  • Tom Seymour
    signed 2019-04-17 15:53:15 -0400
    I pray that Maine does not adopt this dangerous legislation
  • Cynthia Gagne
    signed 2019-04-17 15:52:17 -0400
  • Raymond Daskoski
    signed 2019-04-17 15:51:27 -0400
    Raymond Daskoski
  • Kym Tobin
    signed 2019-04-17 15:51:13 -0400
    Kym Tobin
  • Kevin Donahue
    signed 2019-04-17 15:49:57 -0400
  • Bill Floster
    signed 2019-04-17 15:48:21 -0400
  • Dennis Higgins
    signed 2019-04-17 15:47:49 -0400
    Dennis Higgins
  • Celeste Pelletier
    signed via 2019-04-17 15:47:39 -0400
  • John Ryan
    signed 2019-04-17 15:46:27 -0400
    John R Ryan
  • Phil Foster
    signed 2019-04-17 15:46:06 -0400
  • Malcolm Roberts
    signed 2019-04-17 15:44:18 -0400
  • Val Graffa
    signed 2019-04-17 15:44:08 -0400
  • Danielle McGrath
    signed 2019-04-17 15:43:26 -0400
    Danielle McGrath