#SaveMainesVoice - Sign the Petition AGAINST a National Popular Vote!

WHEREAS, the Maine Legislature is considering adoption of legislation that would award Maine's four Electoral College votes in all future elections for US President to the candidate who wins the so-called "National Popular Vote" instead of the candidate who wins the popular vote of Maine people;

WHEREAS, the Electoral College was designed to ensure small population states like Maine have a voice in the election of the President of the United States;

WHEREAS, a National Popular Vote for President would concentrate electoral power in the population centers of America, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago;

WHEREAS, Maine represents 0.4% of the national population (1.3 million out of 325 million) but has 0.74% of the Electoral College votes (4 out of 538), the adoption of this legislation would cut Maine's electoral power almost in half;

WHEREAS, without universal standards for both the qualifications of voters and the methodology of voting across all 50 states, a National Popular Vote cannot meet the test of "one person one vote;"

WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote does not reflect a universal standard for the qualification of voters across all 50 states, as existing state and local laws differ on suffrage for non-citizens and convicted felons;

WHEREAS, proposals to lower the voting age requirement to 16 years old, such as has been proposed in the states of Oregon and Hawaii, could further establish non-universal standards for the qualification of voters;

WHEREAS, there is no universal standard for the methodology of voting across all 50 states, as existing state laws differ on requirements for voter identification, registration deadlines and voting by mail;

THEREFORE, we as citizens of Maine implore all members of the Maine Legislature to reject all proposals to award our votes in future US Presidential elections to the winner of a so-called "national popular vote" and preserve Maine's voice under the current Electoral College system.

Who's signing

Raymond Daskoski
Kym Tobin
Kevin Donahue
Bill Floster
Dennis Higgins
Celeste Pelletier
John Ryan
Phil Foster
Malcolm Roberts
Val Graffa
Danielle McGrath
Colleen Lahey
Michael Rice
Michael Mango
Linden Buzzell
Barbara Wade
Elania Pfaff
Dave Coveno
Lucinda Brakey
Walter Currier
Brittany Bertocchi
Kathryn Smith
Roger David
Jamie Robinson
Steven Peaco
Forice Dennison
John Baggett
Steven Flynn
Jill Bales
Richard Offinger
1,975 signatures

Showing 1461 reactions

  • Raymond Daskoski
    signed 2019-04-17 15:51:27 -0400
    Raymond Daskoski
  • Kym Tobin
    signed 2019-04-17 15:51:13 -0400
    Kym Tobin
  • Kevin Donahue
    signed 2019-04-17 15:49:57 -0400
  • Bill Floster
    signed 2019-04-17 15:48:21 -0400
  • Dennis Higgins
    signed 2019-04-17 15:47:49 -0400
    Dennis Higgins
  • Celeste Pelletier
    signed via 2019-04-17 15:47:39 -0400
  • John Ryan
    signed 2019-04-17 15:46:27 -0400
    John R Ryan
  • Phil Foster
    signed 2019-04-17 15:46:06 -0400
  • Malcolm Roberts
    signed 2019-04-17 15:44:18 -0400
  • Val Graffa
    signed 2019-04-17 15:44:08 -0400
  • Danielle McGrath
    signed 2019-04-17 15:43:26 -0400
    Danielle McGrath
  • Colleen Lahey
    signed 2019-04-17 15:40:45 -0400
  • Michael Rice
    signed 2019-04-17 15:39:51 -0400
    Michael J Rice
  • Michael Mango
    signed 2019-04-17 15:39:38 -0400
    I would like you to oppose the National Popular Vote (LD 816) bill in our legislature.

    This bill would fundamentally mute Maine’s national vote for the president of the United States. It’s bad enough that California and New York control almost all of the United States politics (popular) vote, however this bill will permanently relinquish us to nothing more than an afterthought during the presidential election.
  • Linden Buzzell
    signed 2019-04-17 15:39:35 -0400
  • Barbara Wade
    signed 2019-04-17 15:39:20 -0400
  • Elania Pfaff
    signed 2019-04-17 15:38:07 -0400
  • Dave Coveno
    signed 2019-04-17 15:37:32 -0400
  • Lucinda Brakey
    signed 2019-04-17 15:37:05 -0400
  • Walter Currier
    signed 2019-04-17 15:37:04 -0400
  • Brittany Bertocchi
    signed 2019-04-17 15:35:32 -0400
  • Kathryn Smith
    signed 2019-04-17 15:35:30 -0400
    Don’t take away the voices of small states like maine
  • Roger David
    signed 2019-04-17 15:35:27 -0400
  • Jamie Robinson
    signed 2019-04-17 15:35:11 -0400
  • Steven Peaco
    signed 2019-04-14 04:00:34 -0400
    This proposal would have the same effect as getting rid of the U.S. Senate. We are a democratic republic NOT a pure democracy.
  • Forice Dennison
    signed 2019-04-11 12:58:49 -0400
  • John Baggett
    signed via 2019-04-08 11:32:18 -0400
  • Steven Flynn
    signed 2019-04-07 08:06:36 -0400
  • Jill Bales
    signed 2019-04-06 17:11:06 -0400
  • Richard Offinger
    signed 2019-04-06 13:17:20 -0400